What is healthy living?

To me its a balance of everything.

People I have admired have a fantastic physique but is achieving it by working out 2-5 hours a day, six days a week healthy?

If they are a retired athlete and they still keep it all up is that still healthy?

I ask because I wonder how much is too much.  If I worked out 2-5 hours a day for six days a week my family would think I had a problem, but if a retired athlete does it its ok?

I have had problems with my IT band for a very long time (four years and counting).  I did see someone about it two years ago without any results. I am seeing a new physical therapist (I wish I had done this years ago!).  He has determined that yes I do have a tight IT band, but it’s not from overuse like I thought.

It’s due to a weak glute on my left side which causes the IT band to do all the work.  My leg on that side does not fully extend either so its like I am walking in a squat position on the left side eternally.  Things would get sore! It’s also creating patellar tracking issues.  When I walk I look completely normal! It’s just slight enough to cause problems.  He said I have probably had this for a very long time and pregnancy just brought it out (extra weight, carrying a baby and toddler on that side etc.)

With strengthening and stretching it should get back to normal.  He thinks there is no reason why I should not be able to run once everything is worked out.

So it all makes me wonder.  I have been very limited with what I have been able to do for exercise for the last year.  I thought my issues were due to over use. It’s not.  When I am all healed I still want to have balance.  I have worked very hard to get to where I am with intuitive eating. Is running a marathon ok? Do people who run marathons abuse exercise?

I just think its funny how a ton of exercise for some people (famous fitness gurus) makes them seem noble, and for others  (the rest of us) they are seen as disordered.

Where do you draw the line?

