Today I had a late afternoon party that involved food to go to.  I wanted a lighter lunch That involved white beans and this fit my plans perfectly!  I made a white bean salad and a white bean hummus.

For the salad:

In a medium-sized mixing bowl I added:

  • 1/2 can of chunk light tuna
  • 1 diced bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1/8 cup diced green olive with pimento
  • Juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • S&P to taste

I put it all on top of a bed of chopped romaine and added a bit of diced avocado on top.  On the side I put some of my white bean hummus (top right of photo) and pita chips.

For the Hummus:

  • 1 can of white beans rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of tahini
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 clove of garlic

Whirl it up in a blender/mixer!  You may need to add some lemon juice or water (I use the latter) to get it to a consistency that you like.

This meal really hit the spot!  I am looking forward to a left over lunch tomorrow.  🙂

I am going to clean up a bit around the house and relax for the evening.  Probably ice my knee too.  It feels pretty good but I did quite a bit today (a lengthy walk  and bike ride, not to mention gardening too! ) I need to slow down a bit tomorrow.  This happens when it feels good I do too much  and I am hurt again.  Not this time.  🙂

Take it easy and I hope you enjoy the rest of your evening too!

Talk soon.  🙂

