When you work on your garden, you get hot!  I had one of these to cool me down.

Into the vitamix:

  • 1 -2 lemons peeled (I had a couple of small halves left over and I added another whole one) and cut up a bit
  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 2 cups of ice
  • Liquid stevia to taste (I used about 15 drops)
  • Mint as a garnish.
It was so icy and refreshing!  Full of lemon flavor.  It’s my new favorite drink!

Today I spent a good part of the day working on my vegetable garden.  With all the time I spent on it, I ended up back to square one.

I am going to do things a bit differently this year.  I want it to be more decorative with a mix of veggies, herbs, and flowers.  Normally I just plot out the veggies in rows and don’t do the best at weeding.  It ends up ugly, but I get some good produce out of it.  “This is the year of the garden!”  Which is what I say every year.  🙂

This is left over from last year:

I liked the walkway and tried to do my new idea using the existing ones, but I only had a few stones left (see on the left). I tried to match up with what I had but it did not work out.  We went to three stone places and it just did not work out.

I ended up getting some new decorative walkway stones that I will use to divide the garden into four sections that I can easily get access to for weeding and tending to the plants.

I used to do a big garden out in the back yard but it’s hard to take care of. This plot I am using is dead space next to the deck and a nice view from the side of it so I’ll see what I can do with it.

Deck view:

I am excited and I feel good about my garden this time.  I bought some topsoil (a yard in the old trailer) to amend my sandy, sandy soil.

I got the old walkway out and tomorrow I will get started on shoveling all the topsoil into the area and mixing it together.  I hope I get it done in time to make it to the farmers market for some plants.  If not i’ll have to wait for Thursday.

It’s time to clean up for the night.  I did a circuit workout this morning (slowly adding in more leg work, it’s been 7 weeks of my IT rehab), lot’s of weeding, tilling,  mowing the lawn, and I am ready for some relaxing!

I hope you all have a great night!

