Image

I am usually ready for dinner at 4:00PM.  Friends make fun of me because of this.  I don’t know maybe they are right and I should belong to a supper club.  Hey, I believe you should eat when hungry.  🙂

Lately though, I have had a few dinner events that schedule dinner for me at 6 or 7:30 PM even (so late!)!  In these situations I find that a smoothie helps me stay full until then.  I don’t want to eat too much before eating again.  This seems to do the trick.

Into the blender:

  • 2 cups raw baby spinach or kale (what ever you have)
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup Ice
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (In my blender I use 1/2 cup, in a Vitamix 1 cup so I can drink it with a straw not a spoon.:))
  • 1 TBLSP chia seeds (can top with or mix in, lately I like to top mine)

This gives me a serving of veggies, some protein, and fiber to keep me going! It also is a great late afternoon pick me up when I am feeling slow and sluggish.  If I need some extra staying power I eat an apple or a granola with it.  I am in love with these Kashi ones:

Image

The caramel ones remind me of a healthy “star crunch” type snack.

So if you need a pick me up this afternoon or a bridge to dinner, I hope this helps.

Have a great Friday!

