I get bored with proteins.  You know, chicken, fish, and beef.  For whatever reason I usually stay away from pork.  Getting bored with the usuals, I bought a pork tenderloin.

I made one when I was first married and we did not care for it all that much.  I think I used salt and pepper and threw it in the oven.  I don’t exactly remember why we did not like it, but it never made it back to our table again.

A while back, I bought my Michigan Tart Cherry wine, on the back of the bottle it said it was good as a marinade with pork or chicken.  I put it to the test.  They were right!  We loved the pork tenderloin!  It came out fantastic and will make some more appearances.  My husband could not believe how tender it was and said “That is something you serve to company!”.  It was simple to do and is good for about 2 lbs of meat:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup Michigan Tart Cherry Wine (plus a bit more to your liking)
  • 1 TBS chopped fresh thyme and sage
  • Kosher salt and black pepper

Mix it all up and pour it in a glass dish.  Drop in the loin cover and refrigerate.  Flip after about 1.5 hours and let it go for another 1.5 hours.  Put him in a 350 degree oven (or if the weather is right the grill) until he reaches 160 degrees and you are done!

It was so simple but made a huge difference.  The marinade itself is so pretty, and the finished product has bits of herbs and looks fantastic too!  I have since used it on turkey tenderloin with great results.

Maybe this will take some of the boredom out of your meal tonight.

Have a good one,

Talk soon!

