Every year on St. Patrick’s day I make my Irish Soda Bread.  This year it has been so incredibly warm here in Michigan that I just couldn’t justify turning on the oven.  So this year my homemade Irish treat is frozen yogurt!  I am sure there is nothing Irish about this dessert (except maybe that I am making it :)?)

I have been craving it and since I have not made it in a long time I decided it was time to do it.  My daughter loved dumping in all the ingredients in the food processor and watching it whirl around.  I think her favorite part of it all (other than tasting the pre-frozen product) was seeing it begin to set up in the ice cream maker.  I have a Kitchen Aid freezer bowl attachment that I use to make ice cream like treats in.  If you don’t have one no worries, just put it in a cake pan (9″x13″) in the freezer and scrape it occasionally until it is semi-firm in the center and set on the edges.

My little girl did most of the work.  Here is another simple, simple recipe (Like my date treats are).  I was inspired by a Gabby Reece post she had about 2 years ago for this recipe and I change-up the fruit to whatever I have on hand.  Here is what I did this time:

  • 3 cups of fresh blackberries
  • 2 cups of low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

Like I said above, place it all into the food processor whirl it, put it into your ice cream maker and put it into the freezer until soft in the middle and set on the edges.  Put it into something green and you get an Irish treat to impress your friends and family.  🙂

I enjoy it drizzled with honey or chocolate sauce.  Enjoy it however you like!

Have a happy and safe St. Patrick’s day!

Talk to you soon!

