Lately I have been craving my chocolate date treats.  This morning I set out to curb that craving and make them.  It is super easy to do, and a healthy sweet treat that is three-and-a-half year old approved!

It’s a bit different from my other bars that were a take on a Dr. Mercola’s Cocoa Cassava bars.  This one drops the unsweetened coconut (I’m out :() for extra chia seeds.  You will be so amazed at the chocolatey goodness, the coconut will not be missed!

Into the mini food processor (I like to make small amounts because they are dangerous!  Serious damage could be done on a big batch. :))  :

  • 1/3 C pitted dates + one to two more (ok heaping cup! I like Medjool.)
  • 1/3 C walnuts halves
  • 1 TBSP Hershey’s cocoa powder
  • 2 TBSP chia seeds

Let the machine rip until you get a decent mixture with some recognizable walnut pieces.  Dump it out onto some waxed paper and form a large bar.  Cut into smaller bars or desired shapes.  Make a small depression with a tsp. (or thumb) and pour on some chocolate topping (see below).

Chocolate topping:

  • 2 TBSP or so of dark chocolate chips
  • 1 scant TSP coconut oil

Microwave in 10 second increments until melted. Top the bars with the chocolate and refrigerate until top is set and then eat away!

I hope you try them.  They are amazing!

