I have had this Betty Crocker cookie book since 1998.  I got if from my boss at the time.  I used to work seasonally at a tree farm/garden center.  I did it all the way through college (8 years to be exact, yes it took me that long, I changed my major a few times. :)).

It the winter we would be off of work for the season, and I would meet my boss for lunch often.  We went to a book store after lunch one day, and he told me to pick out a book.  I chose that one, and he laughed and called me a “little shit” or something like that since the book I picked was not on sale.  It sounds awful, but he was an older man and was like a grandpa to me more than anything.  I think that is why I chose to stay and work so long (he also paid for my school!).  I really enjoyed it there (It also was the biggest reason I first changed my major from nursing, to horticulture, and then I ended up in biology).  It was so beautiful there. We still talk and see each other to this day.  Anyway, in the book there was a date bar recipe.  I love dates!

If you remember last summer almost every day had some dates stuffed with walnuts in it.  I am somewhat over that phase, but dates have not left completely.  Sometimes they show themselves still stuffed with walnuts, but lately they have transformed into a bar of yummy deliciousness!

I changed up the recipe a bit and here is what I came up with:

Crusty Stuff

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 3/4 cup of oats (old-fashioned)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Mix it all together and put half of it in a 8″x8″ dish.  Press it out evenly.

Date Filling

  •  2 cups of pitted dates (then roughly chop them, I love Medjool!)
  • 2 TBSP sugar
  • 3/4 cup of water

Boil the three ingredients above until it is thick.  Spread it out over the crust in the pan and put the rest of the crusty mixture on top.

I sure wish I had not waited since 1998 to make these bars.  My husband thinks they should now be a staple in the house!  I agree!

Have a good one!

