The other night I was in the mood for a hot, comforting, hearty, but healthful meal.  I found that in a Butternut stew!  Inspired from a Vegetarian Times recipe, I made mine with a southwestern flavor.  I love squash, I had tofu and pine nuts, so why not try something new!

Black beans and long grain brown rice alongside really made the meal.

  • 4 cups sweet corn kernels (whirl them it food processor a bit till coarse)
  • 4 cups peeled and diced butternut squash
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 4 chicken stock
  • 2 TBSP chili powder
  • 1 can diced green chilis
  • 1/2 TBSP ground cumin

Combine the above in a large pot over med heat until squash is cooked.  While cooking the above start on the below,

  • 4 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 lb firm tofu, diced
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts

Heat olive oil in a large skillet.  Toss tofu in the flour and add to the hot pan.  Cook untill crispy.  Add pine nuts to tofu and cook about 1 min or until pine nuts are toasty.

Combine all of it together and you are finally done!

This is not one of your quick throw together meals.  It took me about an hour to make, but it hit the spot.  I was afraid to throw the pine nuts and the tofu in the squash mixture because they were crispy and delicious. I figured they would not stay that way for long anyway so I threw them in.  It turned out great!  The flavors worked.  Don’t be afraid.  🙂

Have a nice night!

