Hello everyone! I don’t know if you are still with me. It’s been a while since my last post. I have many reasons for it. The biggest one being energy. If you remember I had been feeling very weak. Well, it turns out my thyroid dropped drastically from July to November. I have a new dose of thyroid medication and am feeling like blogging again. My thyroid has not been that low in 10 years and that was when I was first diagnosed!

I am still working on intuitive eating. “It’s a process, not a perfect.” as someone reminded me. I also went through a phase where I just did not want to blog about food, or read blogs about food. It seemed to influence what I ate, how I ate, or thought I should eat. This brings me to my third reason for not food blogging in a while.

I started to feel bad about posting so-called “healthy” dishes. What exactly is healthy? It varies from person to person.  It depends on their economic status, heritage/culture, dietary restrictions and probably other situations/issues I am not thinking of. Who am I to say “eat brown rice” (not that I ever did, our would it just might be implied when it shows up on my plate in a blog.)when someone might have grown up with white rice and its part of their family something they enjoy and have eaten moderately. I know I was probably over thinking things and this might not be the greatest example (and I know I don’t have that much clout :)), but that is part of why I stopped blogging. Another part is a three-year-old that never naps. 🙂

I have kept up my running/fitness regimen and am happy to say my mileage has gone up once again! I am also enjoying Tabata training. This I have learned from Gabby Reece’s website. I still love following her workouts. This type of training switches up the normal circuit. I love the change!

So I do have one thing to share that I have been enjoying for lunch these days.  I love avocado and I am the only one that will eat it in my family.  I decided to use it for lunch since everyone eats what they want separate from everyone else anyway.  It’s very simple, cheap, meatless, and I cringe here when I say “healthy”.  It is to me anyway.  🙂

  • ¼ of an avocado mashed
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Diced red onion (I like a ton)
  • Boiled egg diced

Fold it all together and scoop and eat it with a mini wheat bagel (or whatever you like)!  It gives me a chance to eat avocado without grossing my whole family out by adding it to a family meal, except for maybe when they see it.  🙂

Any goals for the new year?

