Today I ran 4 miles and got cleaned up to go to a park.  We went to an environmental discovery center.  They have an under water dome inside a pond!  You can observe pond life with a “fish’s eye view”!

You walk down a hallway that opens up into a large dome.

Here I am in the dome.  You can see some fish behind me.

Here is the view from the dome back out to the entrance.

It’s really cool, and my daughter loves it there!  Once in a while people clean the outside of the tank.  We saw more fish today than ever before!  It was a good day to go, they had decent visibility.

I went to library for some food inspiration and found Mark Bittmans new book.  I love the looks and ideas of his books.  Sometimes I think the recipes are just so so but it gives you a good starting point.  I like to make recipes as they are and then tweak it the next time.

I like his ideas on eating.  He has a good idea on what he calls sane eating.  It basically comes down to this:

  1. Eat fewer animal products than average.
  2. Eat all the plants you can manage.
  3. Make legumes and whole grains part of your life.
  4. Avoid processed foods.
  5. Everything else is a treat-and you can have treats daily.

Sane eating to him is about moderation, not deprivation.  You know that I am working on intuitive eating and this fits right in.

You may have noticed I have not been posting my eats for the entire day.  I am sorry if this is something you enjoyed about my blog.  When I post that way it makes my day feel like it revolves around food and food is the center of everything.  I am still eating healthy and good food is important, but I want to focus on other things in my life and have food just be food and not the focus, if all that makes sense.  I still want to share some dishes I have tried, snacks that may be new, or places I have gone.  I hope you stick with me.  It’s just what I need to do right now.  With that being said on to some new Bittman recipes!

Dinner was a whole wheat pasta with spinach, tossed with butter, oil, garlic, and parmesan cheese!  I loved this dish!  I will make this again!  No disappointment and no tweaking either!  Simple and delicious!

There goes the last of my “Managers Special” spinach.  I am sorry to see it go!

I had a bunch of bananas to use up to and I made another Bittman dessert called:  Tropical Oatstacks.

The description is a cookie that falls between banana bread and macaroons.  I would say that is spot on.  There is no added sugar only:  butter, three mashed bananas, vanilla extract, oats, cashews, unsweetened coconut, baking powder, and salt! I loved the idea of that!  They are pretty good but are not very sweet wich has its place too.  They came out better than I expected.  It’s a fun healthy treat.

That’s it for the night.

Have a good one!

