The first meal my husband ever made for me was a cheese ball salad.  We had just met in college, and were hanging out quite a bit.  When I saw him prepare it, I was pretty sure it was going to be awful.  Green olives and cheese balls?  I could not believe that all together the salad worked!

It’s something we enjoy from time to time. It’s mostly healthy. If you are looking for a salad treat, it sure is fun and tasty too.  I like the nostalgia of it as well!

Layered on is:

  • Leafy greens
  • deli ham thinly sliced into strips
  • diced tomato
  • shredded cheddar cheese
  • cheese balls
  • pimento stuffed green olives (a must!)

It is all drizzled in Catalina dressing.  Out of the bottle is ok, but here is my favorite recipe for it:

  • 1 c ketchup
  • 3/4 c white vinegar
  • 3/4 c olive oil
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

The recipe makes a ton, you may want to cut it in half!

Enjoy!

