I ended up cleaning like a mad woman for nothing.  The appraiser did not show up.  I guess it’s nice to start off the week with a “company clean” house.

Tonight I did eat the left overs from last night.  I got hungry a few hours later and in keeping up with my “filling up on food” and not desserts at night I decided to make a soup for a snack or I guess it could be my fourth meal.

First I sliced the leeks into 1/4 inch rounds and swished them out in cold water to remove any dirt.

I sautéed them in a large pot with 2 TBS of butter.

So pretty!  I love the vibrant green!

  • I added almost a pound of thinly sliced mushrooms:  Shiitake, Oyster, and Mini Bella.
  • Then I cooked them down until all the mushroom liquid evaporated and the mushrooms began to brown.
  • I added three cups of chicken stock and brought it back up to boiling.  I added salt and pepper to taste.

The result was an amazing soup with a richness I could not imagine coming out of a soup with only four ingredients!  It has a smooth, thickness to it that I did not expect.  It is something I will make again and again!

I think that will hold me over for the rest of the night.

That’s my eats for the evening.

My husband just called and we need to go save him again!

I hope you have a great one!

Talk soon!

