Good Thursday Morning!

I am feeling great today even after my snack attack yesterday.  My knee feels good.  It should be a nice cardio day.  I wanted to Mtn. bike today but we had rain last night so that is pretty much out.  Mud, mud, mud.  Running sounds fun today.  So that’s my plan.

Today for breakfast: Zucchini Bread and a tall glass of milk!

Not zucchini oatmeal but the real deal, and guess what it’s good for you!

I have been craving zucchini bread for about a week now.  I decided to fulfil my craving instead of chasing it.  I made him last night for my breakfast treat today.  Here is how I did it:

  • 1.5 c brown rice flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (heaping one)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c agave nectar
  • 1 c shredded zucchini (skin on)
  • 1/4 c light olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces (I like big chunks)

I mixed the dry ingredients separate from the wet ones and then combined the two.  I folded in the walnuts and put it all into a greased (bottom and 1/4 way up the sides) loaf pan (~8″x 4″x 2″) and baked it in my little convection oven at 350 degrees F for about 30-35 min (or until a tooth pick inserted comes out clean).

If you decide to give it a go, please do not eat him until the next day.  He needs to meld a bit and develop.  Quick breads are always better the next day!  If you eat him warm or even the same day it will not be the same.  The texture and flavor will be compromised.

The result was a moist, not overly sweet zucchini bread with a more delicate crumb.  It really satisfied!

I actually had half the amount shown with a tall glass of skim milk and have no regrets!  Sometimes when you mess with a good thing (like moms original zucchini bread recipe) and try to make it healthy, the result is disappointing, but not this time.

Craving taken care of, now off to my run!

Have a great morning!

Talk to you soon!

