Today is my cardio day.  It was a good one because I got to go for a run on my own!  I didn’t have dogs begging to go (which makes me feel bad when I don’t take them, they are too little to run too far a distance so I usually walk them for my warm up.), or negotiations to make with my three-year old to get out the door.  I just got to go!

It was cool this morning.  Perfect running weather!  I love running in the fall.  It is my favorite time of year and it feels like it’s on its way.  I started with my five-minute walk to warm up, then I stretched, and ran!  I ran for 50 minutes today!  No pain!  Only some tightness in one hip (my good one) but other than that it felt great!

For breakfast I had oatmeal, but this time with a twist.  Yesterday I kept thinking that a zucchini bread type oatmeal would be good but I was too hungry in the morning to experiment with it.  I did not want to have crummy oatmeal and still be hungry if it did not turn out so well.  🙂

I was looking at blogs yesterday and saw that ohsheglows had posted the very same thing!  What luck!  Now I had a recipe to work with.  Here is how I did mine:

  • 1/3 c rolled oats
  • 1 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 c finely grated zucchini
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • dash salt
  • sprinkling of pecans
  • sprinkling of raisins
  • drizzle of amber agave nectar

I combined the oats, cinnamon, salt, and unsweetened milk and cooked it on the stove untill it was slightly thick and bubbly (The smell of this alone made me think of those sugar-cinnamon covered roasted almonds at christmas time in the mall!  Intoxicating!)

Then I added the zucchini  and cooked it a bit more until it was the consistency that I liked.  I poured it into the bowl (It looked like zucchini bread batter!) and topped it off with the pecans and raisins.  I drizzled the whole thing with agave nectar!

What a treat!  Talk about voluminous.  It was very filling and satisfying, and will show up in my oatmeal bowl again!  Don’t you just love the pretty green flecks in it?!

I hope you are having a great morning!

Talk soon!

