Good Evening!

Today turned out to be meatless, but it was not my intention.  I do enjoy those days when they happen.  I just subscribed to Vegetarian Times so maybe they will happen more often.  I don’t think I will ever go totally meatless.  I like to think of myself as a flexitarian.  🙂

This afternoon I went for a mile walk with the dogs and my daughter.  We stopped at home and dropped the dogs off and I got started on my run.  I ran for 25 minutes and then we stopped at a park for some eats and fun.  I had some trail mix and lot’s of water!

After we played for a while, we walked back home.  I probably went about 4.5 miles total today.  My knee feels pretty good, but it’s still not normal and my hips get super tight!  I just have to remember that I have come a long way!  For the past two years I could not run much at all so it’s progress.

I was craving this salad that I made a while back.  It’s a baby spinach, couscous, and bulgur platter!  When we got home I wanted it for lunch, but it ended up being super late for a lunch (2:00 pm!) and I forgot that I needed to chill the bulgur mix for a minimum of 2 hours!  So I worked on making it for dinner and ate this instead:

It was a fried egg, Muenster cheese, spinach and sprouted bread sandwich thrown into the toaster oven.  It was so good!  I also washed it down with one of these:

A new to me GT I have never had!  I loved it!  I found it at Whole Foods.  I am not a regular shopper there because the closest two stores are about 40-45 minutes away in opposite directions!  When I do go, I like to try new things.  This was one of my weekend finds.  🙂

So I finally got to eat the salad I was craving!

I know it does not look like much, I threw him together quickly because I was hungry and my husband was on his way home (we had to pick up the truck with it’s new tires), but it’s such a wonderful mix of flavors.  The bulgur, couscous, and chickpea mixture has cumin running through it!  The spinach has a yogurt red wine vinaigrette dressing so it’s tangy, and the sweet apple and oniony flavor just add to the mix!  I ate it with about four carrot sticks (my daughter was eating them and it looked good) and a tiny smear of PB.

I got hungry later and ended up making another great smoothie!  He was tropical!  Sort of.  It went like this:

  • 1 c coconut water
  • 2 cups de-stemmed, chopped kale
  • 1 heaping cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb whey protein in Pina Colada!  (I won this packet and surprisingly it was good!  I had my doubts, but it was good!)

I doubt that I will eat anything else tonight.  The smoothie mix I did made a ton (and I ate it all myself)!  I show one glass, but I am sure it would have filled two easy!  I always pour one, put it in the freezer and eat the rest out of the blender and then go back to the cup.  🙂

So that’s my eating day with this post and the previous one.  I had another good day.  I hope you did too!

Have a good night and I will talk to you soon!

 

